Emirates pilot hiring requirements
AirlineUnited Arab EmiratesMiddle EastUAE / EK
Verified 15 August 2026
Emirates is the Dubai based flag carrier of the United Arab Emirates and one of the largest widebody operators in the world, flying long haul Airbus A380 and Boeing 777 aircraft. It hires First Officers directly from other airlines and military backgrounds rather than running cadet entry as its main pipeline, and it recovers part of its type rating training cost through a bond on new hires.
Applications are made on Emirates's own site. SkyStudy never collects an application, a document or a fee.
- Check carefullyNew first officers and captains sign a training bond of USD 42,000 covering 42 months, per Emirates' own careers page.
Open now
Vacancies we can see at Emirates
Nothing from Emirates is on our board today. That means we are not currently reading an open flight-deck advert from their own careers system, not that they are not hiring: open the official careers page above, which is the only complete list. See what is open at other operators.
What the operator asks for
Minimum requirements on record
Only what Emirates states publicly. "Not stated" means the operator does not publish that figure, not that there is no requirement, and never that the requirement is zero.
- Licence
- Not stated
- Total time
- 2,000 hsource
- PIC time
- Not stated
- Multi-engine
- Not stated
- Turbine
- Not stated
- On type
- Not stated
- Type rating
- Type rating provided under a bond (42 months, USD 42,000)source
- Medical
- Not stated
- ICAO English
- Not stated
- Age
- Not stated
- Right to work
- Not stated
- Also required
- Minimum age to commence the command course is 30
- Also required
- Command upgrade: minimum 6,000 hours total time and 2,000 hours actual time in an operating seat
Any age, nationality, residency, height or vision criterion above is the operator's own stated criterion, quoted from its own page. Some such criteria are lawful where an operator recruits and unlawful elsewhere, including in the EU. SkyStudy reports them factually and does not adopt them as requirements of its own.
Every published profile is checked by hand against the operator's own careers page, and is flagged for a recheck 180 days after that check. Requirements change without notice, so confirm every figure on the operator's own careers page before you apply.
Pay and contract
Contract type: Not stated. Do not assume direct employment; some operators contract through an agency or on a self-employed basis, which changes tax, sick pay and pension entirely.
Pay: Not stated on the operator's own page.
For what pilots earn by region and seat, with its own sources and dates, see the pilot salary guide. Those are market ranges, not an offer from this operator.
Selection process
Not stated. This operator does not publish its selection stages, so nothing is listed here. A recruitment site claiming to know the stages is guessing, and so would we be.
Bases
- Dubai (DXB)
Fleet
- Airbus A380
- Boeing 777
Worth knowing
Notes on this operator
- ContextThe 2,000-hour figure is the first officer minimum on Emirates' own pilot careers page. The same page states a command upgrade needs 6,000 hours total and 2,000 hours in an operating seat.
Provenance
Where each figure came from
Each entry is the sentence the value was read from, on the operator's own site. If a figure here is out of date, the quote is what to check it against.
hours.total
Starting from 2,000 hours
emiratesgroupcareers.comtypeRating.policy
The training bond for first officers and captains is USD 42,000. The bond applies to flight crew on passenger fleet for 42 months.
emiratesgroupcareers.comother
The minimum age to commence the command course is 30
emiratesgroupcareers.com
Next steps on the way to a flight deck
Every open pilot vacancy on the board
Every operator profile we publish
What airline pilots earn, by region
Build an airline-format CV before you apply
How airline interviews are structured, and how to prepare
How to become a pilot: the complete EASA guide
The ATPL question bank that gets you through theory
Theory first. Every one of these operators wants the exams done.
The SkyStudy ATPL question bank covers all 13 EASA ATPL subjects, with explanations and an adaptive study plan. Free to start, no card needed.
Important information
This page is general educational information for student pilots and may be out of date.
Aviation rules, training requirements, costs, medical standards, and exam details change over time and vary by country, authority, and training organisation, so details here may no longer be current or may differ in your case.
Always confirm the current details with your approved training organisation (ATO) and national aviation authority before relying on them.
SkyStudy is an independent study aid, is not affiliated with EASA or any aviation authority, and does not guarantee any exam or licence outcome.
Last reviewed July 2026